The Nexa Center for Internet & Society announces 2022-2023 community

Versione Italiana

Turin, July 25, 2022


The Nexa Center for Internet and Society today announces the new members of the Nexa community for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The most important news is that from 1 September 2022 the Nexa Center will have a new co-director: Maurizio Borghi. Prof. Borghi, full professor at the Department of Law of the University of Turin and former Trustee of the Nexa Center, will join the current co-directors, Prof. Juan Carlos De Martin (Politecnico di Torino, DAUIN) and Prof. Marco Ricolfi (University of Turin, Department of Law).

Maurizio Borghi

Maurizio Borghi - Co-Director: Maurizio Borghi is Full Professor of Commercial Law at the Department of Law, University of Turin. Previously, he was Professor at Bournemouth University, where he directed the Center for Intellectual Property Policy & Management (CIPPM). He has taught and conducted research at various universities including Brunel University in London, the Centre for the Study of Law and Society at the University of California, Berkeley, and the ASK Centre at Bocconi University in Milan. He has published and researched on the topics of copyright, data protection and the role of law in the digital age.

“I followed the birth and development of the Nexa Center in its first 15 years as a member of the board of trustees and am happy to now take on a more operational role within it. The future of the internet as a common good depends now more than ever on the ability to pursue critical thinking and free, independent research into its fundamental structures, be they legal, social or technological. A mission that the Nexa Center will continue to fulfil with conviction in the years to come”, prof. Maurizio Borghi.

Honoring the ethos of "networking" which is central to an Internet & Society center such as Nexa, the Nexa community is also complemented by Faculty Associates, who will actively collaborate with the Nexa Center community through an array of channels.

These relationships, as well as the involvement of former collaborators, partners, students, interns and other colleagues, are fundamental to the work and identity of the Nexa Center, as well as to enhancing its capacity and expertise. The Nexa Center sincerely thanks both those community members who will maintain their affiliations with the Center during the coming academic year, as well as friends who - after important past contributions - will move to alumni status.

Finally, the Nexa Center commemorates the 1st anniversary of Philippe Aigrain's death (11 July 2021) and the 5th anniversary of Stefano Rodotà death (23 June 2017). Both Trustees of the Nexa Center since its foundation in 2006, Aigrain and Rodotà were scholars and friends whose ideas and deep humanity left an indelible mark on the memory of all Nexa people.

Returning as Faculty Fellow

Antonio Casilli, Alessandro Cogo, Enrico Donaggio, Massimo Durante, Giovanni Leghissa, Luca Peyron.

Returning as Fellow

Mauro Alovisio, Eleonora Bassi, Lorenzo Benussi, Enrico Bertacchini, Carlo Blengino, Nicola Bottero, Fabio Chiusi, Marco Ciurcina, Deborah De Angelis, Giulio De Petra, Giuseppe Futia, Giovanni B. Gallus, Guido Noto La Diega, Stefano Leucci, Federico Morando, Fabio Nascimbeni, Francesco Ruggiero, Monica A. Senor, Massimo Travostino, Giuseppe Vaciago.

Returning as Faculty Associate

Simone Arcagni, Giancarlo Frosio, Marco Torchiano, Daniele Trinchero, Giorgio Ventre.

The Nexa Community is also formed by the Board of Trustees.